Bihar bypoll UPDATES: RJD leading in Araria, Jehanabad; BJP in Bhabua

Nellie Chapman
March 14, 2018

The RJD's Suday Yadav is ahead by a big margin in Jehanabad, where bypolls were held after the death of his father Mundrika Singh Yadav.

The results were expected to be declared by afternoon, an Election Commission (EC) official said.

In Bhabua assembly seats however Congress is trailing.

The lead status in both Bihar assembly constituency bypoll results remain the same with BJP leading in Bhabua with 40,501 votes and RJD leading in Jehanabad with 52,609 votes. Latest trends showed Sarfaraz Alam leading his BJP rival by 455 votes.

RJD is leading in Jehanabad after 10th round of counting with 29,551 votes.

The bypolls will also test the leadership skills of RJD's Tejashwi Yadav, 28, who has led the opposition campaign as his father and party chief Lalu Prasad is in jail in a corruption case. Around 15 tables will be used at each counting centre in different assembly segments. There were 14 candidates in the Jehanabad assembly bye-election in the electoral fray.

BJP to withdraw Vijaya Rahatkar's name from Rajya Sabha election
Senior Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil told the media: "In the end, it is Satyameva Jayate (victory for truth)". The Shiv Sena has 63 members which means it has a surplus of 21 votes after it elects one of its candidates.

AM: BJP leading after first round of counting in Araria Lok Sabha by-poll.

Elections results will be announced today for Jehanabad, Bhabua and Araria's Bypolls.

RJDs Krishna Mohan is in direct fight with JD (U) candidate Abhiram Singh, who had won the seat in 2010 when his party was in alliance with the BJP.

Fifty-seven percent votes were recorded in Araria while the voter turnout was 54.03 percent and 50.06 percent in Jehanabad and Bhabhua respectively. In Bhabhua assembly seat, Ms Rinki Rani Pandey of BJP has succeeded to maintain a lead of 9,866 votes over her nearest rival Shambhu Singh Patel of Congress.

Bihar, where votes are being counted for one Lok Sabha constituency and two Lok Sabha seats, seems headed for a status quo.

In a stunning development, the Samajwadi Party (SP) takes a lead of around 11000 votes in UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's bastion, Gorakhpur constituency as counting is in the final stage. I know the voters of that area, we will have a win with a comfortable margin of a lakh, says Uttar Pradesh Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article