UP, Bihar bypoll results: BJP trails in Adityanath's Gorakhpur, other key seats

Nellie Chapman
March 14, 2018

Counting is on for the Phulpur and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

BJP's candidate from Phulpur Kaushlendra Singh Patel spoke to the media and said that early trends do not mean much.

The key contenders in Gorakhpur are Upendra Shukla of the BJP, Praveen Nishad of the SP and Surhita Chatterjee Karim of the Congress Party.

Poor voting percentage in the by polls and the coming together of arch rivals SP-Bahujan Samaj Party has made the contest interesting in the elections.

The tension and the importance of the elections can be understood from the fact that Gorakhpur District Magistrate Rajeev Rautela is himself present at the counting centre to monitor the proceedings and to maintain law and order. BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel is second with 87,326 votes after eight round of counting.

Termed by Adityanath a "rehearsal" for the 2019 Lok Sabha election, the byelections are witnessing a triangular contest involving the ruling BJP, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress. The independent jailed candidate, Ateeq Ahmad, has garnered 15,855 votes till now. By-elections were also held for two assembly seats in the state - the BJP is leading in Bhabua while the RJD is leading in Jahanabad, both parties holding. I know the voters of that area, we will have a win with a comfortable margin of a lakh, says Uttar Pradesh Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Five in fray for four Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka
Rana and Valera also filed their nominations during the last half-an-hour allotted for the objective . The BJP has fielded Rajeev Chandrasekhar , while the JD (S) has fielded businessman BM Farooq.

The SP candidate from Phulpur was ahead of BJP candidate Kaushalendra Patel.

Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP as it is the bastion of the chief minister, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times.

The voter turnout was 47.45 per cent in Gorakhpur and 37.39 per cent in Phulpur in Sunday's polling.

On the other hand, Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav had said it (polling day) was a day to "change and re-write history". Prior to Adityanath, the seat was thrice represented in Parliament by his mentor, Yogi Avaidyanath.

Yogi was seen campaigning aggressively for the Gorakhpur seat as it is a fight for pride on this seat. According to the Election Commission, there are 1.96 million (19.61 lakh) voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat has a 1.95 million (19.49 lakh) electorate.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article