Tommy Makinson: Golden Boot will take a while to sink in

Carrie Guzman
November 10, 2018

NRL superstar James Tedesco has been snubbed for the prestigious Golden Boot award, with England winger Tommy Makinson named rugby league's best worldwide player for 2018.

Makinson was nominated for the award along with James Tedesco, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak and Elliott Whitehead, but the Saints star was named the victor at an awards presentation in Leeds last night.

Under new rules introduced this year, the Golden Boot award is determined by performances in internationals from the 2017 World Cup final to last Sunday.

At the presentation dinner on Thursday morning (AEDT), Makinson beat England teammate Elliott Whitehead, Australian fullback James Tedesco and Kiwi skipper Dallin Watene-Zelezniak to the accolade.

The new rules for the Golden Boot see it based on worldwide games only, including the 2017 World Cup final, which has led to controversy with former players Garry Schofield and Brad Fittler, amongst others, critical of it.

On Saturday he scored a hat-trick to help England sink New Zealand at Anfield.

Senate leader: Trump likely to nominate new AG
Seth Dickinson, a first year law student, said he attended the protest because he sees the law as something worth "fighting for". She said the group is affiliated with the Indivisible Project, a national collection of grassroots progressive organizations.

Makinson is only the fifth Englishman to win the award, following in the footsteps of Ellery Hanley, Garry Schofield, Andy Farrell and Kevin Sinfield.

"I watched the highlights of the England game yesterday and just saw him score a couple of tries. America was off the bench and he absolutely turned that game around, in Hull in my opinion he was man of the match and he was certainly man of the match last week".

"I had my injury doubts for two years".

Makinson received the award at a ceremony in Leeds on Wednesday alongside the first victor of the women's Golden Boot - the Sydney Roosters and Australia centre, Isabelle Kelly.

"All three had stellar careers and quite rightly deserve their place in Rugby League's pantheon alongside the existing 25 members of the Hall of Fame".

Other reports by

Discuss This Article