AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Carrie Guzman
December 7, 2018

The other finalists for the Walter Camp were Murray, Minshew, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen.

While Tagovailoa was voted the best player, he didn't win best quarterback.

"It's humbling and an honor to be named AP Player of the Year, to be mentioned in the same realm as a lot of great players, a lot of hall of famers", Murray said.

Murray won over Tagovailoa and Minshew for the O'Brien.

When the announcement was made of the finalists for the 2018 Heisman Trophy, history was made as well. This is the sixth time in the past 15 seasons that different quarterbacks took home the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards, and in four of the previous five times the Heisman went to the O'Brien victor. It will be given out Saturday night in New York City.

What made Jennifer Aniston 'burst into tears'?
The Along Came Polly actress added to her glitzy ensemble with strappy heels and chandelier earrings for some added pizzazz. Well, Jennifer Aniston did not seem too keen for that. "[I was so nervous] but I sang through it and then got my voice".

Key stats: Passed for 3,353 yards and 37 touchdowns against four interceptions.

While an Oklahoma quarterback sets his sights on the College Football Playoffs, he has another prestigious award to add to his collection.

The last five Walter Camp winners won the Heisman Trophy and the last four Maxwell winners have won the Heisman.

9 overall pick by the Oakland A's in last summer's Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, is the second Sooner in two years to win the O'Brien Award, joining Baker Mayfield.

Bio: A native of Hawaii, Tagovailoa was a five-star recruit who came off the bench to lead a comeback in the national championship game to finish his freshman season. Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article