Google is disconnecting Photos from Drive because it’s "confusing" for most users

Alonzo Simpson
June 13, 2019

Photos and videos you upload to Photos won't be synced with your Photos folder in Drive either - but there will be a button to let you copy them across from one service to the other.

After offering sync between Google Photos and Google Drive for long, Google has now chose to end the sync service because the whole thing is too "confusing" for users.

Starting in July, this sync will not happen.

Until now, new photos and videos you add in Google Drive will automatically show in Google Photos.

India vs New Zealand | Men in blue train ahead of match
India takes on New Zealand in CWC19 match at Trent Bridge, which is located in West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire. The Black Caps have been absolutely ruthless in the three games they have played so far in the tournament.


The first mention of this possibility came from Forbes a month ago, and according to Android Police, the changes are coming in an effort clear up user confusion and provide a "simplified" experience going forward.

The good news is anything deleted from one service won't be removed from the other either. Similarly, new photos and videos you add in Google Photos will be added to the Photos folder in Drive. So Google is making changes to prevent this kind of accidental deletion. "As before, items uploaded in High Quality won't count against your account storage quota, and items uploaded using Backup and Sync in Original Quality to both services will count only once towards your quota". Users claimed that the system was confusing and led to some accidentally deleting photos and videos from the Drive folder not knowing that the file would also get deleted from Google Photos (or vice versa). "Since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos". The same rule applies when you save to Photos.

However, there is a way to avoid this double-dipping, which is to use the Backup & Sync desktop tool for Windows or macOS. However, it is set to bring some inconvenience especially for the users who often access their memories directly from Google Drive or view their important photo or video content stored on Drive directly through the Google Photos app.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER