Australia set to face Lionel Messi at 2020 Copa America

Carrie Guzman
December 4, 2019

The Socceroos' opening match will be against 15-time Copa America champions Uruguay and its star striker Luis Suarez on June 13.

The Socceroos will tackle global superstar Lionel Messi and Argentina at next year's Copa America after Australia were drawn alongside the co-hosts.

Argentina, who last won the Copa in 1993, will also face Uruguay, Paraguay, Australia and Bolivia in Group A after their opener against Chile.

In Group B, Asian champions Qatar, the other guest nation, will face Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru, with all games taking place in Colombia.

Argentina will play host for one of the semi finals as the Monumental will be one of the two venues for one of the semi finals. "Hopefully not", the Argentina coach told reporters.

The 2020 Copa America marks the first time in the modern history of the tournament that the event is being co-hosted.

Stakeholders respond to medevac law repeal
Ms Lambie cried in the chamber as she backed the bill but would not reveal whether a deal had been struck to garner her support. I can't let the boats start back up, and I can't let refugees die, whether it's sinking into the ocean or waiting for a doctor.

Qatar made their debut at the tournament this year, drawing their first match against Paraguay before falling to Colombia and Argentina.

The 2019 Asian Cup champions competed in last year's Copa America earning a draw against Paraguay in a competitive campaign.

So Argentina is placed in Group A alongside & (as invitee). Eight teams, or the top four from each group, make it through to the quarterfinals.

No guest nation has won the Copa America, with Mexico coming closest by reaching the final in 1993 and 2001.

"The Copa America is the oldest worldwide football competition in the world and we are honoured to have received an invitation to compete", said Socceroos coach Graham Arnold.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article