Drew Pearson Reacts Angrily over Exclusion from Hall of Fame

Carrie Guzman
January 16, 2020

Slater and Karras join three other Hawkeyes as members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - safety Emlen Tunnell (inducted in 1967), safety Paul Krause (1998) and defensive end Andre Tippett (2008).

Pearson, now 69 years old, starred for the Cowboys from 1973 to 1983.

So, with that in mind, here are our next best guesses - former coaches turned analysts, Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson, have already been announced as in - for the sweet Centennial Class enshrinees.

Mac Speedie, a three-year letter-winner from 1939-41 and an All-America honorable mention as a senior in 1941, was named Wednesday as one of 15 members of the Centennial Slate for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander's first career triple-double guides Thunder past Timberwolves
It was the first time in his career he did not record a point or assist in a half in which he played 10 or more minutes. He played for 36 minutes while shooting 8-of-12 from the field and 66.7% from the three-point line.

"This hurts. They broke my heart". "And they did it like this! They strung it out like this!"

Drew Pearson's live reaction to missing out on the HOF again. In fact, he was named to the 1970s All-Decade First Team, and he's the only one on that squad who still remains outside of Canton. A three-time All-Pro in 12 seasons, Karras unofficially had 97 1/2 sacks - it was not an National Football League statistic in the 1950s and '60s, and was considered by Vince Lombardi the one Detroit player who could single-handedly disrupt the Packers. He's a member of the NFL's 1970s All-Decade team. It's a heartbreaking moment I would challenge any Cowboys fan not to be moved by. To put a second-team All-Decade selection over a first-team pick makes zero sense. I feel frightful for him.

Hopefully one day the Pro Football Hall of Fame gets it right, because Drew Pearson is long overdue for a gold jacket.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article